Skip to main content
  Press Releases
  E-Notifications
  Staff Directory


 
Printer Friendly Version 
Leaf Collection Begins Oct 18
Posted Date:
9/29/2017
Cheltenham Township’s 2017 fall leaf collection program will begin on Wednesday, October 18 in Route 15. The complete schedule is detailed below.
Leaf Collection Route Map

The program offers at least six collections in every route – two for loose leaves and four for bagged leaves – plus a special third loose-leaf collection for the first four routes in the schedule, weather permitting. The goal is to complete all collections by December before winter weather arrives because leaf vacuums are ineffective in snow and ice. Early in the program, collection crews may proceed to some routes ahead of schedule. However, each morning crews will return to the route scheduled for collection that day.

In addition, residents may drop off biodegradable paper bags containing leaves and other garden debris EXCEPT INVASIVE PLANTS at the Waverly Road Compost Facility. (Invasive plants should be placed in trash bags that residents label as “Invasive Plants” and discarded with household refuse.) The compost facility is located on Waverly Road between Church Road and Cheltenham Avenue in Laverock and open weekdays from 7:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. and Saturdays from 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. unless affected by a holiday. No bags or other material may be left at the facility when it is closed.

Residents should follow the accompanying schedules and guidelines to help ensure the most efficient collection program possible.
• Rake leaves to the curb no more than 14 days prior to the scheduled collection day. Violators will be subject to fines.
• Rake only leaves; do not include twigs or branches, which may jam the leaf machines.
• Do not put leaves into the street immediately after a collection.
• Use only biodegradable paper bags when bagging leaves. Bags are sold at the Cheltenham Township Administration Building, libraries and community centers for 35 cents each or three for $1.
• Put bagged leaves at the curb just prior to their scheduled collection day.
• Do not put trash, large branches, dirt, stones, rocks or invasive plants into the biodegradable paper bags. However, grass clippings, twigs and non-invasive garden debris should be recycled in the biodegradable paper bags.
• Have landscapers cooperate with the collection schedules. Landscapers must obtain a permit annually to drop off material at the Waverly Road Compost Facility.
• Do not park over leaves since heat from a vehicle may ignite them.
• Never burn leaves or place leaves at the curb anytime after the final collection, as stipulated by Township ordinances.
For other information, call the Public Works Department at 215-635-4600.

2017 Fall Loose Leaf Collection Schedule 

Leaf Route

Collection Date

  Route 15

Wednesday, Oct. 18


Wednesday, Nov. 8


Tuesday, Dec. 26

Route 14

Thursday, Oct. 19


Monday, Nov. 13


Wednesday, Dec. 27

Route 13

Friday, Oct. 20


Wednesday, Nov. 15


Thursday, Dec. 28



Route 12

Monday, Oct. 23


Friday, Nov. 17




Friday, Dec. 29

Route 11

Tuesday, Oct. 24


Tuesday, Nov. 21

Route 10

Wednesday, Oct. 25


Monday, Nov. 27

Route 9

Thursday, Oct. 26


Wednesday, Nov. 29

Route 8

Friday, Oct. 27


Friday, Dec. 1

Route 7

Monday, Oct. 30


Tuesday, Dec. 5

Route 6

Tuesday, Oct. 31


Thursday, Dec. 7

Route 5

Wednesday, Nov 1


Monday, Dec. 11

Route 4

Thursday, Nov. 2


Wednesday, Dec. 13

Route 3

Friday, Nov. 3


Friday, Dec. 15

Route 2

Monday, Nov. 6


Tuesday, Dec. 19

Route 1

Tuesday, Nov. 7


Thursday, Dec. 21

 

2017 Fall Bagged Leaves/Garden Debris Collections

Routes

Collection Date

9 – 15

Friday, Oct. 20

1 – 8

Friday, Oct. 27

9 – 15

Friday, Nov. 3

No Collection

Friday, Nov. 10

1 – 8

Friday, Nov. 17

No Collection

Friday, Nov. 24

9 – 15

Friday, Dec. 1

1 – 8

Friday, Dec. 8

9 – 15

Friday, Dec. 15

1 – 8

Friday, Dec. 22



 

 
 
 
Cheltenham Township   ~   8230 Old York Road   ~   Elkins Park, PA 19027   ~   Hours: M-F, 8AM-4:30PM
Phone: 215-887-1000   ~   Fax: 215-887-1561
Home   |  About Us   |  Government   |  Departments & Services   |  Residents   |  Business   |  I Want To
Site Map   |   Contact Us   |   Disclaimer   |   Powered by MunicipalCMS
Sign up for enews Facebook Get our RSS feeds